A healthier bread pudding

I think it was 2 years ago when I posted a recipe for my version of bread pudding. And I remember I said my next attempt would be how to make bread pudding healthier. This is what I came up with.

Using my old recipe, I just made a few substitutions. I used whole-wheat bread, non-fat milk, and brown sugar. I deleted butter from the recipe, and opted to use cooking spray to grease the pans. I also added nutmeg, which improved the flavor profile of the pudding. I also added some grated low-fat cheese.

This time I cooked it in an oven toaster, which was quicker than a microwave oven, but due to the small space, I covered the pan with foil so as not to burn the top of the pudding.

2015-10-15-FFL

It turned out very well! šŸ™‚

One thought on “A healthier bread pudding

Leave a Reply

