Lemon Pie in Sagada

A couple of weeks ago my work brought me to Banaue, Ifugao for a workshop. On our free day before the start of the workshop a group of my friends and colleagues decided on a day trip to Sagada, which was about 3 hours away from where we were. On the way there we stopped at the various points where we could view the majestic Banaue Rice Terraces. It was my first time to visit Banaue in a long time and it was still an awesome sight. I even brought my DSLR for better photos. I was also happy that the 3G signal in Banaue was in great shape. I was able to post photos to my Instagram account on-site.

When we reached Sagada the first thing we looked for was a place to eat. I will tell you more about the place where we had lunch in my succeeding posts. Suffice it to say that I made sure I left room for dessert because we were looking forward to having the famous Lemon Pie at the Sagada Lemon Pie House.

sagada-lemon-pie-03

The place

When we got there I admired the low seating in the main dining area. Kind of like a cross between the Japanese style and sitting by the low table dulang in my province of Pampanga.  It was perfect for lounging but maybe not so much for most of us who, for reasons of age and body size, will not be able to tolerate such sitting arrangements for a long period of time. So after ordering slices of Lemon Pie and cups of brewed coffee, we opted to seat on the porch area facing the street.

I was so excited when my slice was served that I immediately took a bite before I realized I needed to take a photo! So pardon the incomplete slice in the photo. It’s no wonder this pie is very popular. I loved the flaky crust, the meringue topping, and of course the lemon curd itself, which was delicately sweet and tangy. Paired with their brewed coffee, it was a refreshing and tasty dessert/ snack combination.

sagada-lemon-pie-01

The Lemon Pie

I would have loved to take those pies home but it was 5 days before our return to Manila so it wouldn’t be fresh anymore. Besides, I’m not sure how long those pies will last un-eaten, the temptation to eat it would probably be too strong to resist. We also planned to buy coffee from them but we were hurrying to see more of Sagada that we realized we hadn’t bought anything only during our drive back to Banaue. Hopefully, I will be able to return to Sagada someday. For now, I only have my memories to cherish.

My friends & colleagues

My friends & colleagues

The Sagada Lemon Pie House is located at Atey, Dao-Angan, Sagada. They are on Facebook as well. This is NOT a paid blog post.

Leave a Reply

