Eats in Cambodia 4

This continues my series of cataloguing the local Khmer food that I have eaten during this short trip to Cambodia. In my second week here I traveled to two provinces in the northwestern part of the country to do my field work.

On the first day we left Phnom Penh at 7AM and headed for Battambang. We had breakfast at a restaurant in Kandal province, which lies just outside Phnom Penh. We had lunch and dinner at Battambang.

food_040515

Clockwise, starting from the left: breakfast in Kandal (Bai Sayk Churuk, or Grilled Pork with Rice); lunch in Battambang (Mchu Krung Trei, or Fish in Sour Soup, and Cha Banlay or Stir-fried Mixed Vegetables); and dinner (Stir-fried Beef and Green Pepper and Chi Chei, or Seaweed & Tofu Soup). Oh, the Fried Pork Ribs at the bottom left was served at lunch as well.

The two soups were excellent; reminding me of many home-cooked meals I have had in the homes of my Khmer friends. Also, my former housekeeper made excellent sour soups as well.

Leave a Reply

