Eats in Cambodia 3

When I first arrived in Phnom Penh on April of 2004, I stayed in a Cambodian household and so was quickly introduced to home-cooked Cambodian meals. The family I stayed with was also fond of eating out; it seemed that they have a list of places that they regularly go to–each serving a particular dish. This influenced me a lot, in the sense that as the years went by, my own list of favorite food–and where to get them–began to grow also.

And when I returned, I revisited these places to see if they still existed. Some of them are pictured below. I have yet to see some of these other places in the remaining days that I am here in Phnom Penh and I will share them if I am successful in finding them again.

food_033115

(Clockwise: the Beef Noodle Soup from that little shop in front of Hun Sen Park, beside Ngon Vietnamese Restaurant; Locha from a shop on Street 105, they used to operate a stall at Orussey Market and have apparently relocated here; Phnom Pang Pate from another shop on Mao Tse Toung Boulevard, across Wat Tuol Tom Pong; Hand-pulled Noodle Soup with Beef from this shop along Monivong Boulevard, they also sell wonderful spinach dumplings–steamed or fried–for just USD1.50 a serving (10 pieces); this one is a new favorite: Chaang Soup at Dao Coffee, over at Street 57.)

One thought on “Eats in Cambodia 3

Leave a Reply

