Eats in Cambodia

As I mentioned in a previous post, one of the first things I did upon returning to Phnom Penh was to visit past haunts–places, people, and what-not. The changes that the past years have brought to my adopted city are palpable and at times, jarring. One of the pleasures I get in these revisits is finding my favorite places still standing. On my second night, I was feeling cooped up in the hotel so I called an old friend and invited him for dinner to one of my favorite Chinese restaurants here in the city.

Sam Doo was our go-to Chinese restaurant during my first 2 years here, when dining choices were few. They served great food at great prices so it was a hit for me. Years later, new and more high-end Chinese restaurants sprouted but Sam Doo managed to hold its own. I was happy to learn that it was still open so my friend and I went for dinner there.

food_032915

We ate my favorites: Spring Roll, Chicken Feet, Stir-fried Greens with Garlic, Yang Chow Fried Rice, and Pork Ribs with Salted Egg-yolk. I was happier to note that the years have been kind to their food. They remain as great as I remembered them to be.

I’ll be posting more ‘Eats in Cambodia’ in the coming days!

Leave a Reply

