Lamb-in a-can

Last week, in one of my regular supermarket runs, I came across this sizable can of corned lamb from Highlands. They were just beside Highlands’ Angus Corned Beef, which has been reviewed by many other food blogs. I immediately got curious and got a can to find out if it’s any good.

Back at home, I sauteed it in onion, garlic, and tomato. I just added a dash of salt and pepper. So how was it? It really tasted like lamb, minus the funky smell and taste that improperly cooked lamb sometimes have. The texture is very much corned beef, just a tad finer and the saltiness quite subtle.

Though I kept wondering if it would taste better without tomatoes. Next time then.

In any case, I loved it. My family? Not so much but only because of the fact that they’re not too crazy about eating lamb–whether canned or not–so the next time I get it, it will be for my own pleasure only.

F4L-20150209

*Full disclosure: this is not a sponsored post. I bought the can of Highlands Corned Lamb with my own money and wrote this review.

Leave a Reply

