A quick stir-fry

Last night at home we found ourselves pressed for food. I rummaged through the refrigerator and found some chicken breast fillet, about half a kilo. The crisper yielded a piece of carrot and some small Fuji apples. I also found a can of button mushrooms in the cupboard. I cut the chicken breast into thin strips–julienned if it were a vegetable and marinated it in a mixture of oyster sauce, light soy sauce, Chinese cooking wine, salt, black pepper, and corn starch.

Then I cut the carrot into thin disks, one red onion into think half-rings, and quartered the button mushrooms. As an afterthought I seeded and cored two apples and cut them into slivers.

I stir-fried the chicken in very hot oil then added the onions, carrots and mushrooms. I seasoned with salt and pepper and just added some water to the marinade and poured it into the pan.

When the sauce thickened a bit, I added the apple slivers and stirred for about a minute before plating and serving.

chicken-apples

The result? The family loved it. I was glad I held off adding sugar to the marinade because the apple imparted sweetness to the dish. Personally, I liked the contrast in textures: the tender chicken against the crunch and tang of the carrots and apples, plus the silky sauce.

Leave a Reply

