Post-birthday Lunch

I celebrated my birthday two weeks after the fact, with some of my oldest and better friends. Usually our meet-ups consist of a long lunch, followed by coffee and sweets, and filled with endless catching up with each other. This time we decided to do it at Vikings at SM Marikina, because this was the mall closest to most of my friends.

I didn’t worry that Vikings is a huge buffet. In fact, I think it worked in my favor because I have a wide range of food to choose from. Just by exercising portion control, I could make healthy food choices, enjoy the variety, and more importantly, not drag anybody with my own personal food restrictions.

It was my first time to dine at Vikings SM Marikina. I’m more familiar with their branch at Mall of Asia. The first thing I noticed was the plates. They were smaller than the plates that I got used to in MOA. But the food was consistently great over-all. I also decided to document the food I ate, small plate by small plate.

2014 BDAY LAFANG

(Clockwise from right) In my first trip to the buffet table, I got slices of raw salmon and tuna. I also got some pickled cucumber with crab meat.  It was lovely and fresh, the cucumber cooled my mouth as I ate the slices of fish smeared with wasabi and dipped in the soy sauce. In my second trip, I got Oysters Rockefeller, Chili Con Carne, and Prawn and Veggie Tempura. See how small their plates are?  I had to get two plates because each plate can only hold 3 pieces of oyster and 5 pieces of tempura! The oysters were great, though I feel they went a bit overboard on the cheese. The chili was great as well. Not too spicy but full of complex flavor. The tempura were adequately crisp and tasty but I feel the sauce was a bit of a let-down because it lacked punch.

For my third trip, I went to the rotisserie section and got some roast turkey and lamb. I paired the turkey with truffle sauce and the lamb with some black pepper sauce. At first glance I thought, what a tall mound of turkey meat but upon closer inspection I realized the turkey slices were on top of a lot of stuffing, which I didn’t eat. Both turkey and lamb were cooked perfectly and the sauces were great as well. After this course, I got caught up in talking with my friends before realizing it was time for dessert.

For dessert, I opted to eat fresh fruit–melon to be specific and possibly my most favorite food item in Vikings, their Vanilla Frozen Yogurt. I’ve been in love with this since tasting it for the first time 3 years ago. I’m so glad to have it once again.

Service was consistently great at SM Marikina, and I must say that the toilet in this branch is way better than the one in MOA. It was a very busy service that day; the restaurant was brimming with people but they managed to keep the toilets very clean.

My friends and I enjoyed our long lunch. We had great food and we had a great time catching up with each other. For our next get-together, we might try Vikings at SM Megamall.

Leave a Reply

