Eats Out There

Yesterday I went to U.P. Manila very early in the morning so I didn’t have breakfast at home. There’s a Jollibee just across the College of Public Health but I didn’t want to go there because their breakfast fare is kind of against what I’m trying to eat. So I went to Starbucks because I heard they have whole grain oats. I also ordered a fresh fruit cup and some iced black tea. I asked them to steep the oats in non-fat milk.

breakfastbucks-01

The fruit cup was nice; the fruits tasted really fresh, though I thought it could use more honeydew and less pineapple. The oats was great; it had a lot of toppings that I didn’t need any sweetener. It was a very filling breakfast but it cost me about 300 pesos. There are cheaper alternatives, I’m sure. Nevertheless, I was satisfied.

breakfastbucks-02

For lunch I went to Komoro, a Japanese restaurant that just opened a branch at SM San Lazaro. It’s supposed to be a famous dining place in SM Megamall but honestly I haven’t heard of it until I saw the billboard announcement at the entrance of the mall. It was set up like a fast food; you place your order in the counter and the food will be served. I checked out the menu and I thought their prices were quite affordable. I ordered my favorites: Niku Udon and Gyoza. For drinks I ordered Pepsi Max, which is the equivalent of Coke Zero in being sugar free.

I was surprised when my Niku Udon was served in less than 5 minutes after I took a seat. It was a hefty serving, full of noodles and thin beef slices on top. The broth had more umami taste than I am accustomed to but I didn’t mind. The noodles were cooked perfectly and the beef very tender, if not a bit fatty. I had to skip eating the fatty parts of the meat but because there was plenty to sift through, my beef craving was still fulfilled.

komoro-01

The Gyoza was cooked perfectly as well. It had a good combination of crunch and softness and the filling tasted great. My only quibble is that they should probably give more sauce. The sauce was very good but I found it bitin.

komoro-02

I was enjoying my food but something marred my pleasurable dining experience. I was aghast to notice that the lady who sat at the table to my right was eating with her left foot on another chair. Said foot was even bare and I couldn’t un-see her red toenails as her toes wiggled while this lady ate. Some people just don’t have manners. I don’t care if she has medical reasons for doing that but that behavior in a restaurant is simply objectionable.

komoro-03

Over-all, I was satisfied with my two meals outside. Yes, it’s possible to eat healthy at Starbucks albeit the choices are really limited. I’m definitely going back to Komoro. I like their food and their prices. Imagine, my lunch was cheaper than my breakfast!

One thought on “Eats Out There

  1. Pingback: Red Table | FOOD for LIFE

Leave a Reply

