Boneless Chicken Inasal

This is my second post on the much-loved grilled dish. I’ve written that Chicken Inasal is best cooked over an open flame. Cooking it over a stove is challenging but I recently realized an alternative, which is to use boneless chicken! We recently had a surplus of chicken thighs in the house. My aunt deboned half of them so we had about a kilo of chicken thigh fillet, with skin on. Normally I’d get skinless chicken thigh fillet from the supermarket for pan-frying. The skin gave me an idea to make Inasal out of them.

Good thing we had Sukang Iluko (Cane Vinegar) in the house. In a bowl I mixed a cup of the vinegar, a tablespoon of minced garlic, and a teaspoon each of salt and crushed black pepper. I also picked a couple of lemongrass stalks from our backyard and sliced them thinly. I put them in a covered container and let it marinate in the refrigerator over night.

Before grilling it I made 1/3 cup of atchuete (annato) oil, which is just heated Canola oil and a tablespoon of the seeds.

When the griddle pan is hot, I put the chicken skin-side down and turned it after 10 minutes. When I turned it, there was an appropriate amount of charring on the skin. The other side cooked in about 5 minutes. Don’t forget to baste the chicken with the annato oil.

For the dipping sauce, I mixed 1 part of cane vinegar to 2 parts of soy sauce, half a teaspoon of minced garlic and 1 sliced siling labuyo (finger chili). Just one chili? It’s because my family’s threshold for spiciness is quite low.

boneless-chicken-inasal

The whole family loved it. Making Inasal out of chicken thigh fillet was a great idea. It cooked well on the stove top griddle pan. Plus the addition of lemongrass gave another dimension to the flavor of the dish. From here on, I will always include it when making Inasal. For a healthier version, remove the chicken skin.

Leave a Reply

