Friday Food Shot 34

I learned how to eat, and cook, Fish Tinola when I lived in Cambodia. I learned this from friends who were from the Visayas. I loved the simplicity of the dish, which cleverly disguises its rich and complex flavors. When I returned to Manila, my father was on a strict diet due to his end-stage renal disease. As it turned out, this dish was one of the few that his restrictive diet allowed so I made this for him many times, using different kinds of fish for variety. He thoroughly enjoyed eating this up to his death months later. His last few months were painful and uncomfortable; I am glad we were able to provide him few pleasures, including this dish. This photo was taken about 2 weeks before his death.

foodsnappie-34

Leave a Reply

