Fill Me

I’m on my second week of rice-free dinners and I’m feeling better than I expected. My craving for rice is still there, but it feels more like a hum rather than like a drum beating inside my head. I haven’t checked my weight, but I noticed that my belly had become softer and a teensy weensy smaller than before. In two weeks I plan to extend my rice-free eating to lunch and I am bracing myself for its possible effects on me.

I’d probably be hungrier at the start but I also know that I can deal with it by my food choices. I mean, in my long experience with food, I have come to know which ones can fill me up and which ones can’t. I’d like to share  four of these foods. Some are not outright lunch choices, but they can really delay hunger longer than other foods.

APPLES

4 fillfoods - apples

Any color will do. I don’t peel apples generally because the skin adds more fiber, which contributes to that fuller feeling.

DARK CHOCOLATES

4 fillfoods - darkchoco

I’m not a brand whore when it comes to dark chocolates, but I’m kind of partial to Lindt when I want to indulge. Otherwise, local brand Goya has dark chocolate products that are very affordable.

EGGS

4 fillfoods - eggs

In my experience, boiling eggs results in a more filling type of cooked egg.

OATMEAL

4 fillfoods - oatmeal

I prefer quick-cooking oatmeal over instant oatmeal, I also do not usually add a lot of things on my bowl. I’m okay with honey, milk, or cocoa. When I’m feeling fancy, I’d add raisins or nuts, but that’s about it. Although recently I heard about overnight oatmeal, and I’m very curious to try making it.

One thought on “Fill Me

Leave a Reply

