NYE Cooking – Hamonado

My mother cooked our Christmas dinner/  Noche Buena so for New Year’s eve dinner/ Media Noche, she left the cooking to me. I Instragrammed intensely while cooking so if you’re my IG and FB friend, you would’ve seen the number of photos I shared while cooking. Having those pictures just make blogging about cooking easier. So now I will share the recipes of the food I prepared last NYE. Just as the recipes were shared to me by family, friends, and so son. This recipe, in particular, I got from the mother of a good friend. I first tasted this in the 90s, in one of the celebrations in my friend’s home in Antipolo. I begged her mom for the recipe and as home cooks often do, she just gave me a list of ingredients, sans quantity & portion. I had to find it on my own through research and trial & error. Here goes my version of

HAMONADO

Ingredients:

  • 1 kg pork pigue, sliced into a single, 1-inch thick piece (makes 2 rolls)
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1.5 tsp iodized salt
  • 4 tsp rock salt
  • 2 tsp Prague powder (AKA Pink Salt, or Curing Salt)
  • 200 g pork fat, sliced into strips (optional)
  • 200 g sweet pickle relish
  • 2 cans pineapple juice, 232g
  • 1 can pineapple chunks, 234g (reserve syrup)
  • 2 tsp corn starch, dissolved in water

hamonado 01

Process:

  • Mix the sugar, salt, and Prague powder. Rub the mixture on the pork.
  • Spread pork. Spread the pickle relish all over. Arrange the pork fat slices along the center. Roll the pork and tie firmly with butcher’s twine or crocheting thread.
  • Marinate the pork overnight in the pineapple juice and syrup.

hamonado 02

  • Simmer pork in marinade, with the pineapple chunks for 45 minutes to 1 hour or until tender. Add a bit of water to prevent drying. Remove from marinade and let it rest.

hamonado 03

  • Reduce broth and add the corn starch slurry. Mix until thick.
  • To serve, cut the strings and cut into 1-inch thick slices. Pour the sauce over it.

hamonado 04

I actually used 2 kilos of pork so I adjusted the recipe accordingly. But if you’re trying this recipe for the first time, a safe bet would be to follow the recipe exactly. I skipped using the pork fat because my mother forgot to ask the butcher to slice off the fat from the meat. If using pink salt/ curing salt is a problem, you can also skip it; however, the finished product will not have a pink color, instead it will be grayish-brown. I also skipped the pineapple chunks because I ate up most of it while cooking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

