Iced Coffee

I acquired my taste for iced coffee in the years I spent in Cambodia, where it is as ubiquitous as Coca Cola here in the Philippines. For about half a US dollar, one can have a tall glass of brewed coffee sweetened by condensed milk and topped with crushed ice. A truly delightful drink at any time of the day. This type of iced coffee is actually common in the region that includes Vietnam, Thailand, Laos, and Burma.

When I returned to the Philippines, I realized that there were more Vietnamese and Thai restaurants serving this concoction. Unfortunately none of them equaled the drink that I enjoyed in Cambodia. I also tried making it at home, even using ground coffee from Cambodia, but the taste was not quite the same.

I wondered why.

Then I read somewhere that when it came to making iced coffee, cold brewing is the best way to brew coffee. I’m not sure about that because I liked the iced coffee I had before, and it wasn’t cold brewed. The article stated that, “Cold brewed coffee has a full-flavored, very smooth, velvety taste. It is less acidic and less bitter than other types of coffee with a hint of chocolaty, nutty, natural sweetness.” It sounds appealing, but I think the process is too long; although if it really tastes awesome, I’d be willing to try it.

would you buy this gadget?

would you buy this gadget?

However, machines that do cold brewing are either difficult to find and/ or too pricey. Then I discovered this gadget called the COLD BRUER in my go-to website for gadgets and it can be had for USD 50.00 over at kickstarter.com. My curiosity is piqued; I’m just not sure if it is piqued enough for me to order said gadget. What about you?

Leave a Reply

