What’s your pasta?

I discovered Barilla pasta when I was living in Cambodia, where my usual pasta brands were not available. I tried Barilla out of desperation and was pleasantly surprised at its quality and taste. When I came back home in 2010 I was glad to know that Barilla was available here as well. Of course, my mother is fiercely loyal to her ever-reliable Royal and Del Monte pasta products so I wasn’t able to convince her to fully switch to this imported brand.

Last week, the CEO of Barilla caused an internet furor when he said this: “For us, the ‘sacral (sic) family’ remains one of the company’s core values. Our family is a traditional family. If gays like our pasta and our advertisings (sic) , they will eat our pasta; if they don’t like that, they will eat someone else’s pasta. You can’t always please everyone not to displease anyone. I would not do a commercial with a homosexual family, not for lack of respect toward homosexuals – who have the right to do whatever they want without disturbing others – but because I don’t agree with them, and I think we want to talk to traditional families. The women are crucial in this.”

In response to the negative reaction, the same CEO sort of apologized HERE and stood by his words at the same time.

So now the question is, what’s your pasta going to be from now on? Bertolli and San Remo come to mind.

Here’s a list of some pasta brands that have not offended gay people: 12 Pasta Brands That Haven’t Pissed Off Gay People

indeed

indeed

Too bad for Barilla. Don’t they know that gay people come from non-gay families and that are also supportive of each other. I don’t think traditional families will support companies that promote discrimination.

Now, I wonder what our local pasta brands have to say on the matter…

Leave a Reply

