Birthday Lunch

I turned 40 yesterday and my mother prepared a birthday lunch consisting of sinfully rich food, in violation of my resolve to eating healthy. She prepared ox-tail kare-kare, crispy pata, lechon kawali, and pork spring rolls, among others. She believes birthdays and other events are periods of indulgence from any diet. She also believes that enjoying these kinds of food is one of the reasons why we are on maintenance medications. Kidding!

I didn’t have the desire to document my gustatory debauchery but I did take a snapshot of one particular dish–a childhood favorite, both delicious and symbolic. Here’s to birthdays!

Mama's Pancit Palabok

Mama’s Pancit Palabok

Leave a Reply

