My ultimate comfort food

I can’t recall the first time I ate ‘sopas’ (chicken macaroni soup) but I must have been very young. I know that I like it very much; so much that my grand-aunt gave me the alias “Mr. Sopas”.  I remember the recipe of this particular grand-aunt: no vegetables other than the recado of garlic and onions, but she boils pork ribs and other boney scarps until the meat falls from the bones then adds the recado and cooks the macaroni in this flavored broth until the macaroni almost melts in your mouth.

I can eat ‘sopas’ everyday. This is part of the weekly menu in our house. This is also one of the first dishes I learned to cook. The recipe is pretty flexible with its proteins: if there is no chicken, you can substitute  ground pork or diced pork belly. I’ve cooked it using corned beef, or cubed Spam, even Ma-Ling.  The other day was rainy, which is a perfect time to prepare ‘sopas’.  I’m sharing my recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 250 grams macaroni (any will do, but my favorite is the shell)
  • 1/2 chicken breast, or about 250 grams of pork
  • 2 pieces chicken gizzard (balumbalunan)
  • 1 piece chicken liver
  • 2 pieces jumbo hotdog, diced
  • 1/4 medium cabbage, sliced thinly
  • 1 medium carrot, sliced into matchsticks
  • 1 red onion, minced
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 small can of evaporated milk
  • 1 tbsp butter mixed with 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 chicken cube (optional)
  • salt & pepper
some of the ingredients

some of the ingredients

Procedure:

  • Boil the chicken, gizzard and liver in a stock pot. Water should just cover the meats. When cooked, remove the meats and set aside. Add the macaroni to the boiling liquid and cook according to package directions. Add some salt to the liquid.
  • When chicken has cooled enough to be handled, pull into strips. Slice the gizzard and liver thinly.
  • In a pan, heat the butter and vegetable oil. Sautee the onion, garlic then carrots. Season with salt & pepper. Add the chicken, liver & gizzard, and the hotdog.
sautee the meats

sautee the meats

  • After about 5 minutes of stir-frying, add the cabbage. When the cabbage have wilted a little, remove pan from heat and replace it with the stock pot with macaroni. Add the mixture into the stock pot. Drop the chicken cube. Bring to a boil once then turn the heat low.
add the cabbage

add the cabbage

  • Season with salt & pepper as necessary. Simmer for 5 minutes then add the milk and stir. Continue simmering (DO NOT let it boil) for another 5 minutes before serving.
with and without milk

with and without milk

I ate this for dinner and for lunch the next day. Try making this and let me know hot it turned out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

