National breakfast day

Today is National Breakfast Day, well at least according to McDonalds. They’re also giving free Egg McMuffins early in the morning to its customers. As for me, I’m looking forward to the day when the Egg-white McMuffin becomes available here in the country. And while I like free stuff, I hate long lines that result from the free stuff being widely advertised. Plus, I usually have breakfast at home, in all of my ruffled and disheveled glory.

no thanks, McDonalds!

no thanks, McDonalds!

For breakfast this morning, we decided on bread instead of the usual rice or fried rice, eggs, corned beef hash, coffee, and fruits. On a work-day we usually have rice or fried rice but this morning we all seemed to agree on bread. The bread is pan de sal, which is made right beside our house. My family owns a bakery, complete with a wood-fired brick oven. We rent out the building to a baker and his family and they make a living with just one product the whole year.

Their pan de sal is the best for me: crunchy outside and chewy inside. I skipped the eggs, eating the corned beef hash with the bread and I chose to eat my slices of apple with a dollop of creamy peanut butter. This combination is what my mother calls my “pagkain ng buntis” (a pregnant woman’s food), weird food combinations that I will write about in the future.

My friend is right. Breakfast at home is always much better!

breakfast at home

breakfast at home

Leave a Reply

