Corny

These days, I try to regulate my corn consumption because of its relatively high glycemic index, since I am striving to have a healthier diet.

But I like corn very much, preferring the white over the yellow kind. I like them also in many ways that it is served and enjoyed. Grilled, boiled/ steamed, and pan-fried and mixed with diced carrot and peas. I like them with food like bulalo (bone marrow soup), sprinkled over roast pork, or in ginataang mais (sticky rice & corn cooked in coconut milk). I even like it when it’s fried to a crisp in salt and garlic (kornik).

For corn on the cob, be it grilled or steamed, I am easy to please. I am happy with a dash of salt and white pepper. Other people I know are not satisfied unless their corns are slathered with margarine or butter, sometimes processed cheese spread. Another friend pours condensed milk over his corn. When I was living in Cambodia one vendor sold her corns rolled in “pink salt”, which was a mixture of coarse salt and crushed chili peppers–similar to what vendors in Thailand serve with their fresh fruits.

I saw this infographic in a story in The Huffington Post that showed a variety of toppings on corn on the cob according to the continents (except Antarctica). All are interesting, but I got my eye on the African type.

F4L-2014-03-25

Leave a comment